Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Basic compression force questions.

1. Jan 12, 2009 #1
    Hi, I'm a newbie here.
    I'm sorry if my questions are worded improperly or are too simple. I'm a chemist who hasn't had a physics class in over 20 years, so I'm a little rusty.

I have some questions on compression forces (and their propagation). I'm a battery chemist and have an electrolyte (liquid) uptake problem in a battery and have exhausted many chemical ideas, so now I'm looking at the more overall physical system. Before a battery is activated with an electrolyte, the stack gets compressed and put into it's container. You assume everything is even and the electrolyte gets evenly placed, but so much for assumptions sometimes.

To give you a visual of my question, this is kind of what my stack looks like with plates (+ and - ) and separators stack on eachother (note, this is not the exact stack, just the first good goggle image I came upon).
    [​IMG]

If I apply a force across the top, does that force eventually equilibrate to the applied force? Can there be localized greater forces than the applied force?

Now what if I have a nut and bolt running up through the middle of this cross-section (instead of the 4 at the corners as shown), and was tightening with a torque wrench, and assuming the endplates are strong (er?), how are the forces propagated?

And lastly, what technologies exist to measure these forces? Are there coupled wires I can insert in the stack and measure under, say a hydraulic press?

Thanks so much and let me know if you need more clarification. I'm starting at the basics first, before I might get specific.

Kathie

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 13, 2009 #2

Q_Goest

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hi Kathie, welcome to the board.