Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Basic Electronics

1. Jun 5, 2012 #1
    Hi

First I would like to say that I am not an electrical engineering student. I study physics, and unfortunately I lack a lot of basic electrical know-how. I know the theory behind e.g. a low-pass/high-pass filter and stuff like that, but when it comes to implementing things and - specifically - testing that my circuit works, then I fail. My wish is to get better at these things

I have attached an example of a circuit that I found online. Say I have made the circuit, and now I want to test with a multimeter that everything works.

1) In the top right corner is "Supply". If I measure the resistance between "Supply 1" and "Laser diode 1", then I go through 2 resistors in series of 5.6 Ohm, 1 resistor of 39 Ohm in parallel and 1 inductor in series. Assuming that the inductor has no resistance (it is DC, so I guess I can neglegt it?), then is it correct that I would measure something close to R = 5.6Ω + 5.6Ω + 39Ω = 50.2Ω?

2) Say I measure from "Modulation 2" to "Laser diode 2". I have 1 resistor and 4 diodes in parallel with eachother + a resistor of 10kΩ in series. The arrow on the diode I guess indicates that I can't go through it. What should I expect to measure here?

I would be very happy to get some feedback.

Best,
    Niles.

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 5, 2012 #2
    1) You can not simplify just like that. There a MOSFET in there. Depending on the bias on the MOSFET terminals, the voltage at the point between two 5.6Ohm resistance will be different. In that case you can not assume that those two 5.6Ohm resistances are just in series. The current can also flow through the MOSFET drain terminal.

You have to look at the gate bias and determine how much current might flow through the drain.