1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Basic group theory question

1. May 7, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I need to determine [tex]dad^1[/tex] for each element d in the left-coset formed by acting on the elements in [tex]C_G(a)[/tex] with the element c such that c is not an element of the subgroup [tex]C_G(a)[/tex]

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

I don't really understand what the question is asking me to do? I'm fairly new to group theory and understand that d are the elements in the left-coset of the subgroup and that a is the fixed element of the group G but I'm not really familiar with [tex]d^1[/tex], why is there a 1 in the exponent of the element?

Can anyone start me off here? Or at least give me an outline of the goal?

Attached Files:

• Q5.png
      Q5.png
      File size:
      12.4 KB
      Views:
    Last edited: May 7, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. May 7, 2014 #2

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I would guess that it's a prime, not a 1. d and d' are just the notations they use for two different elements of that set. (Or is it perhaps ##d^{-1}##, the inverse of ##d##?)

Is that the full problem statement? What is the definition of ##C_G(a)##?

4. May 7, 2014 #3

pasmith

Homework Helper

Should that not be [itex]dad^{-1}[/itex]?

How does [itex]C_G(a)[/itex] relate to the element [itex]a[/itex]?

5. May 7, 2014 #4
    I have updated the opening post with an attachment of the question, hopefully its more clear

6. May 7, 2014 #5

ChrisVer

Gold Member

It obviously meant to be the inverse (it's easier to lose a minus than misclick ' for 1)...