Solving Basic Probability Exercises with Intuition

In summary, the probability of none of Mike's identifications being correct is 1/3 in the case of three brands, and 3/8 in the case of four brands. The correct method of solving this problem is by using basic probability theory and a probability tree diagram, which can be tedious but yields the same result.
broegger
Hi. I'm a math instructor and this problem is given to 1. year economics students.

1. The problem statement

In an episode of the TV show "All in the Family", Mike claimed that he could identify different brands of cola by taste alone. He was challenged and presented with three glasses, one filled with Coke, one filled with Pepsi, and one filled with RC Cola. Suppose that Mike really was not able to discriminate among the brands by taste.

(a) Find the probability that none of his identifications would be correct.

(b) Find the probability of no matches, had there been four brands instead of just the three.

Homework Equations

This should be solved using basic probability theory.

The Attempt at a Solution

By counting combinations, I have found 1/3 in (a) and 3/8 in (b), but can anyone come up with a clever, intuitive way of solving this?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
How about a probability tree diagram? Since you're looking to explain basic prob theory to students it'll help if you draw out the probability tree, and then do the counting method to show that they both yield the same answer. You could probably also show them that the 2 methods are equivalent.

Defennnder said:
How about a probability tree diagram? Since you're looking to explain basic prob theory to students it'll help if you draw out the probability tree, and then do the counting method to show that they both yield the same answer. You could probably also show them that the 2 methods are equivalent.

Yeah, I think I'll do that, although it gets rather complex in (b).