What Does the Double Integral ∫ ∫ f(x,y) dx dy Represent?

• Thread starter uzman1243
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Integrals
In summary: Interchanging the order of integration, "dydx", the limits must be y= 0 to 1 and x= 0 to 1- y.In summary, the conversation discusses the interpretation and application of double and triple integrals. It explains that the integral can represent either a volume or a mass depending on the function being integrated. The limits of integration also play an important role in determining the shape of the surface being integrated.
uzman1243
I am just starting to learn double and triple integrals.
Say:
I = ∫ ∫ dx dy
This should give the area within two curves right?
What will the following integral give? Will it give volume? I am finding questions where it gives (for instance) mass in a given shape
I = ∫ ∫ f(x,y) dx dy

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
It depends on how you interpret the symbols.

Your integral could be interpreted as a volume provided that you interpret f(x,y) as a function that defines a surface in 3 dimensional space. So, put z = f(x,y). This defines a surface which projects nicely onto the x-y plane (that is, it never turns vertical). Subdivide the x-y plane into small rectangular segments of sides dx and dy. The segment at position (x,y) has area dx dy , and the height of the surface above the point (x,y) is f(x,y). So the product f(x,y) dx dy is approximately the volume of the rectangular column with base dx dy that reaches up to the surface z = f(x,y). Integration is the process of adding these volumes in the limit as dx and dy tend to zero, and gives the (signed) volume of the vertical solid column defined by the boundary curve on the x-y plane that defines the limits of the integral with vertical walls reaching up to the surface z = f(x,y).