Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Basic Questions about Black hole's

1. Jan 11, 2015 #1
    Hello, my name is Bjørnar Bergetun im somewhat new here, i've created a few posts during my stay but i tend to get warned off for not being able to scientifically formulate my questions.
    im no scientist, i lack math in school and have a job where i work with my hands but i've been thinking alot about black holes these last few months and have made a list i hope i can place here for someone to take a look at.
    help me get a better understanding about the nature of the black hole so to speak.

here are my questions:

1: What is the size of the magnetic field around a black hole the mass of the one in the center of the Milky Way galaxy? is it big enough to go outside the orbit the earth is in? bigger then the galaxy?

2: If you put 2 magnets with opposing fields against eachother the smaller magnet will be pushed away by the magnetic fields interacting. could in theory the black hole's magnetic field be moving the black hole by outside forces like for instance black energy/matter pushing on the magnetic field? could this cause direction change or accelleration of a galaxy?

*3 i've read that the size of a black hole grows 8 times more then the size of the input inserted into it. is this true?

*4: i've also read that there are gasses coming into the galaxy from outside from the north and south position of the center from sources unknown. is this also true?

* Sources for question 3 and 4 cannot be found, i have been searching the internet but in hindsight i think it is from a science magazine called "illustrated science" sold in norway.

i have more questions but would like to see some kind of response to these before asking more.