Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Basic sets question

1. Apr 10, 2008 #1
    [SOLVED] Basic sets question

It's been years since I've taken analysis, and so I thought I would have a refresher by studying Abbott's Understanding Analysis.

Anyway to the point-- there is a simple exercise in the beginning that stumps me (don't laugh I'm a physicist).

First of all I am fine with, and have proven that [tex](\cup_{n=1}^{N}A_n)^{c} = \cap_{n=1}^{N}A_n^c[/tex] using induction, but I don't see why induction can't be used to say that [tex](\cup_{n=1}^{\infty}A_n)^{c} = \cap_{n=1}^{\infty}A_n^c[/tex]?

Abbott then wants me, the reader, to prove that set equality if it's valid using another method. There was a hint given, and that was to use the fact that if [tex]B_1 \supset B_2 \supset \cdots[/tex] and each [tex]B_n[/tex] is countably infinite, their intersection [tex]\cap_{n=1}^{\infty}B_n[/tex] does not have to be.

The only natural construction of sets that I could think of that would fit with the hint would be something like [tex]B_m = \cup_{n=m}^{\infty}A_n[/tex] or perhaps [tex]B_m = \cap_{n=1}^{m}A_n^c[/tex] so that [tex]B_1 \supset B_2 \supset \cdots[/tex] is satisfied and I have an expression either way that appears in the conjecture.

It's probably a standard result, but I can't figure it out, can someone help me with this?
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 10, 2008 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Hi David! :smile:

Hint: try B_n is all the real numbers between 0 and 1/n. :smile:
  4. Apr 10, 2008 #3
    Oh well I already have an example for when the intersection is not countably infinite, if that's what you meant.

I am supposed to use that fact to help solve the problem that I'm actually concerned with-- is the compliment of the union of a countably infinite family of sets the intersection of the compliment?