1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Basic tensor equation

1. Sep 19, 2015 #1
    I'm new to working with tensors, and feel a bit uneasy about the nomenclature. I picture words like antisymmetry in terms of average random matrices where no symmetry can be found at all. However, if I understand it correctly, antisymmetry is a type of symmetry, but where signs are inverted. So with this nomenclature Reagan, in that famous joke, is right to label anticommunists as a type of communists. But, anyway that's just linguistic mishmash.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

[itex]A_{ij} = k \epsilon_{ijk} a_k[/itex]

k is a constant. [itex]\vec{a}[/itex] is a vector.

What must k be to fulfill [itex]A_{ij} A_{ij} = |\vec{a}|^2[/itex] ?

3. The attempt at a solution

The dual use of k also confuses me somewhat but from what I understand the only constant is the non-index k.

Is it correct to assume that [itex]\vec{a}[/itex] is taken to exist in three dimensions, from the use of the 3-index levi cevita?

[itex]A_{ij} A_{ij} = k \epsilon_{ijk} a_k \cdot k \epsilon_{ijk} a_k = k^2 \epsilon_{ijk} \epsilon_{ijk} a_k a_k = 6 k^2 a_k a_k[/itex]

So if k is [itex]\pm \frac{1}{\sqrt{6}}[/itex] it appears to fulfill the requirements, but this isn't the correct answer.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 19, 2015 #2

CAF123

Gold Member

Hey, the first equality on the last equation you wrote violates the Einstein summation convention.

4. Sep 19, 2015 #3
    Ok,

Would this be a correction?

[itex]A_{ij} A_{ij} = k \epsilon_{ijk} a_k \cdot k \epsilon_{ijn} a_n [/itex]