Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Basic Torque Theory

1. Oct 2, 2011 #1
    I'm not exactly sure where to ask this question but I would like someone to please help explain to me how to understand which direction a force a will torque on object. That is, how do I determine whether the force will cause it to rotate clockwise or counterclockwise?

I'm not very good at solving even elementary torque problems because this is a huge element of understanding torque.

This is what I know about toruqe so far:

[itex]\tau[/itex] = [itex]\stackrel{\rightarrow}{F}[/itex] x [itex]\stackrel{\rightarrow}{r}[/itex]

|[itex]\tau[/itex]| = |[itex]\stackrel{\rightarrow}{F}[/itex]| |[itex]\stackrel{\rightarrow}{r}[/itex]| sin [itex]\theta[/itex]

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 2, 2011 #2

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

That should be [itex]\tau[/itex] = [itex]\stackrel{\rightarrow}{r}[/itex] x [itex]\stackrel{\rightarrow}{F}[/itex]

Are you familiar with the right hand rule for cross products?

Also, view the animation on this page: Torque

Torque_animation.gif

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 19, 2017
  4. Oct 2, 2011 #3
    I have used the right-hand rule for cross products before (namely in terms of magnetism) but have never been particularly comfortable with it. Also, if I used torque as I have defined it would my resultant torque be negative (is that not a property of the cross product?)

I understand that if you apply a force in one direction to some radius (I believe this is called a moment arm?) it will cause a toruqe in one direction and if you apply a force in the opposite direction to torque, in turn will point in the opposite direction.

5. Oct 2, 2011 #4

Doc Al

This illustrates the version that I use for any cross product:

120px-R_hand_Rule.png

Here's another illustration specifically for torque: http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/tord.html" [Broken]