1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Becoming a Physics major and Personal Chances at Graduate Admission

1. Jul 7, 2012 #1
    I am an upcoming sophomore at Boston College and feel that I should change my major to physics. I have a strong interest in the subject and after much deliberation feel that I should make the switch. However, I want you guys to look at the following circumstances:

In my freshmen year, I did not study hard or provide myself with the proper motivation to do well. I poorly in my science classes (which composed of two biology class, general chemistry, and mathematics) and got a 2.5 GPA as a result. My non science classes were all B's and A's that year. Before anyone says anything, I want to clear a few things. First off, by no extension of the word or meaning, I am good at mathematics and decent-good at chemistry (I have always done well in them). 100%, I am sure that, had I actually given those subjects their deserved amount of studying, I would have done well. Biology is memorization at this level, so obviously that could have been remedied. I know that what I have just said is not a delusion of mine.