Beefing current up rapidly

• Thread starter geordy
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hi i am new to this but i have a question, I am fascinated by exploiting water and removing the hydrogen from the water, and to my understanding i need to advance in higher current to make it worth while to break the water up at a higher and much faster rate, is it hard to make a device that will pump out if i am correct in saying this, but at a rate of 20 - 40,000 amperes. I am after something with extremely high current. Can any of you kind lads give me a word of opinion or advice in what i should do? Cheers Guys..

Answers and Replies

Averagesupernova
Science Advisor
Gold Member
I don't know much about electrolysis but I can tell you that what you are asking for is a bit much. Where I live the largest single phase service one can get on 240 volt service is 50 KVA. Do the math, that is 208.33 amps at 240 volts. So, what type of voltage do you need between the electrodes in the electrolysis tank? (Again, don't know much about it.) If you were to figure 100% efficiency of a power supply (which you won't in the real world) you will only have 1.25 available at the tank electrodes if you want to be able to source 40,000 amps. 1.25 volts is never going to be able to push 40,000 amps through water. Of course, I haven't any idea what type of conductors you will need to be able to carry 40,000 amps either.

Hi i am new to this but i have a question, I am fascinated by exploiting water and removing the hydrogen from the water, and to my understanding i need to advance in higher current to make it worth while to break the water up at a higher and much faster rate, is it hard to make a device that will pump out if i am correct in saying this, but at a rate of 20 - 40,000 amperes. I am after something with extremely high current. Can any of you kind lads give me a word of opinion or advice in what i should do? Cheers Guys..