Beginner Chemistry: How to Calculate Mg & Zn Composition in Sulfuric Acid

In summary: If you're given a mass of a mixture (5.00g), and you want to find out what percentage of that mass is Mg and Zn, your first step would be to find out what the total mass of the mixture is. In this case, 5.00g of Mg and Zn reacted together, so the reaction product is 4.50g of H2. This means that 0.50g of Mg and 2.50g of Zn were present in the mixture as a percent mass.
suspenc3
Hi, I'm pretty new to chem, I have a few questions:

Metals react with dilute sulfuric acid to give hydrogen according to:
M +H2SO4------>MSO4 + H2

when 5.00g of a mixture of Mg and Zn were dissolved in sulfuric acid 0.284g of H was collected. What was the composition of the mixture of Mg and Zn expressed as a percent mass?

im confused, what do I do when I am given that there is 5.00g of mixture?what do I do about molar mass etc...

Thanks

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I also don't know what to do because no formula is given for the Zinc Magnesium mixture?

suspenc3 said:
Hi, I'm pretty new to chem, I have a few questions:

Metals react with dilute sulfuric acid to give hydrogen according to:
M +H2SO4------>MSO4 + H2

when 5.00g of a mixture of Mg and Zn were dissolved in sulfuric acid 0.284g of H was collected. What was the composition of the mixture of Mg and Zn expressed as a percent mass?

im confused, what do I do when I am given that there is 5.00g of mixture?what do I do about molar mass etc...

Thanks

The question asks you to find how much of the 5.00g was Mg, and how much was Zinc. Since that's what you want to find, let's call the amount of Mg which was present initially as x gms.

The reaction given to you is

M +H2SO4------>MSO4 + H2

where, M can be Mg or Zn (ie, both Mg & Zn react the same way).

Now, find out how many grams of hydrogen was produced if x gms of Mg completely reacted to form H2. (convert x gms of Mg to gm-moles of Mg first. 1 mol of M reacts to form ___ mol of H2)