1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Behind as a math major?

1. Jan 18, 2016 #1
    Hi, I saw there was another thread about becoming a mathematician, but as far as I know, this is somewhat different. Anyway, I am a first-year university student, and am going to start my 2nd semester next week. For various reasons I won't go into, I didn't really take any math in high school higher than precalc. However, I taught myself Calculus I before the start of the first semester with a textbook + practice problems online.

I did very well in the class, finishing with over 100%. This upcoming semester, I am registered for Calculus II, Introduction to Linear Algebra, and Discrete Structures. Technically, the last class is a Computer Science class (I am a CS major), but it seems to be a de facto math class, including the basics of proofs. I really enjoy math. I understand there will be less and less computation the further you go, but I am considering adding it as a second major. I have used the same strategy that I had with Calculus I to teach myself a good deal of Calculus II, including all of the methods of integration, and I have started with sequences and infinite series.