Bending Moment Problem: Finding the Moment & Shear Force

In summary, the conversation discusses the method for calculating bending moment and shear force for a simply supported beam with a uniform section, weight, and load. The reactions at each end should be equal and the sum of the reactions should equal the total load. The shear force at a particular section is calculated by summing the external forces on one side of the section. The speaker suggests consulting books on Strength of Materials for more detailed explanations and offers to help check calculations if needed.
stephen765uk
The question.

A beam with a solid square cross section of 200mm x 200mm with a length of 30m is simply supported at both ends. Weight of beam = 10kn/m. The beam has a UDL of 120KN which lies between 8m and 20m from the left hand side.

I am fairly new to this so please bear with me. I have found moments for r1 and r2 as follows.

r1=214kn r2=206kn

I need to find the bending moment and shear force however can't remember the method for this. Could anyone just run me through the rough calculations without giving me the answer. Many Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
If the beam is simply supported at each end, and has a uniform section and weight, and the load is uniform, I would expect the reactions to be equal at each end.
The total of the reactions should add up to the total load, includeing weight.
Your attempt at the solution does not seem to satisfy the above criteria.

To calculate the reactions, you take moments about points 1 and 2 in turn, which leaves you with an equation with one unknown at a time (r2 and r1). If they come out not equal for a symmetrical beam with symmetrical load, you understand that there is a little problem. Another check is to add up r1 and r2, the sum of which should equal the total loads including self-weight.