BER output problem for Radio over Fiber system/Optical Comm

In summary, the conversation is about the speaker's first work in optical and first simulation in MATLAB. They apologize if there are any mistakes and mention that they are new to this. The speaker explains that they are simulating an entire Radio Over Fiber system with MATLAB, specifically using a linear system. They also mention the code they used for defining constant parameters and filters. They ask for clarification on the use of match filtering in their code and how it relates to the output they obtained.
thavamaran
Hi guys, this is my first work in optical and first simulation in matlab. I am sorry if there is mistake and I am really new to this.

Here is what I did, I am simulation an entire Radio Over Fiber system with Matlab, linear system.

Let me insert my code first,
Code:
%*****************************Defining constant parameter****************
%Rb = 1e+6; %bit rate
%Tb = 1/Rb; %bit duration / period
Num_bits = 1e4; %number of bits

nsamp = 20; %samples per symbols
%Tsamp = Tb/nsamp; %sampling rate, fsamp = 20MHz.
a = 0.2; %channel attenuation, dB/km
L = 20; % Length of fiber
Gain = 10; %Gain in dB

%*****************************Filter definations************************

snr_dB=0:20; %SNR in dB from 0 to 20

SNR=10.^(snr_dB./10); %SNR in linear scale

Tx_filter = ones(1,nsamp); %transmitter filter, in terms of
% h(t),match filter
Rx_filter = fliplr(Tx_filter/nsamp); % receiver filter (matched filter),
% flip from left to right to make
% it h(T-t), match filter

Tx_OOK = randint(1,Num_bits); % randomly generating 1 and 0 in a
% row of matrix for 1000
% column,basically ON-OFF keying
% with random bits

%*****************************Channel input*****************************
Tx_OOKin = 0+Tx_OOK; % Tx+with power, 0dBm,ideal.

%*****************************Channel properties************************

Txch = Tx_OOKin -(a*L); %Signal in channel, deducting with
%channel attenuation=4dB