Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Bernoulli Explained

1. May 21, 2007 #1
    Hello, I am studying fluid mechanics and we have worked on Bernoullis theory a lot over the past couple of years. I am really struggling to grasp the concept of the theory and what it is about. Bernoulli states that in a system the pressure will always be constant (hence Pt = Ps + Pv + Ph) at any point.

Can any one explain this to me. My understanding is that the more head in a system over a particular outlet the higher the potential (Ph) and the static head (Ps), so how can the outlets with a lower head equal the same pressure?

Would static pressure be calculated as the potential head (p.g.h) + atmospheric pressure, then the total pressure would be the sum of the Ph + Ps + the dynamic velocity which would be given in m/s? Again my understanding is the more head involved the higher the velocity pressures, so how does a tap with only 3m of head have the same total pressure as a tap with 10m of head?

If there's any examples of this to show the thoery or simple table calculations this would be very useful.
  2. jcsd
  3. May 21, 2007 #2
    Along a streamline

rgh + rv²/2 is constant (if there is no losses, by friction for example)

this says that if gravity is pushing a fluid over an height "h", its kinetic energy will increase.

This conservation law above is the energy conservation: the work done by the gravity on a fluid is not lost but transformed in kinetic energy, or vice-versa. Obviously, this conservation law can be derived from the laws of motion of a (perfect) fluid: the Navier-Stokes equation without viscosisty losses.

When there are losse, these must be introduced in the Bernouilli equation.
  4. May 21, 2007 #3
    Right so can you take a look at the following for me:

(using 1000kg/m3 - density, 9.81m/s - gravity and 101325Pa Atmos)

Tap 1 - 5m of head