Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Bernoulli's Principle of lift

1. Mar 15, 2006 #1
    Hello,

I am a student taking Conceptual Physics in College. We have just completed going over Bernoulli's Principle of lift. Please bear with me on this as it will most likely seem elementary to most of you. Below are several claims that I've heard and that my logical reasoning tells me to be incorrect. If you may be so kind, please help a frustrated student out by helping me understand any of these concepts.

Claim #1: The reason why windows shatter during high winds is because the pressure of the wind on the outside portion of the window (i.e. the area being "hit" with the wind) is much lower than the pressure of the wind on the inside of the window (the area not being directly affected by wind). The high-pressure on the inside thus "pushes" the window and cracks it.

My logic #1: It is not the high pressure of the inside portion of the window that cracks the window. It is the speed of the air being blown by the wind. That is to say, wind, just as any other object, is subject to Newton's First Law of motion. The air in motion has a tendency to stay in motion just like any other object (e.g. a rock thrown at the window has nothing to do with air-pressure, but rather, the direct force exerted by the rock).

Question #1: Does the air not exert a direct force upon the window on impact? If I were to take a very powerful fan and start blowing air parallel to the window (also lowering the pressure[?]) would the window also shatter?

Claim #2: It is said that the reason for why an umbrella sometimes brakes (by being inverted) during a high wind is because the pressure blowing on top of the umbrella is lower than the pressure directly below the umbrella, which exerts a great force at pushing the umbrella up and breaking it.