1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Best class choices

1. Jun 27, 2007 #1
    I am currently a high school student that has a desire to go into a mathematical and scientific career. I was wondering what future classes would benefit me the most in helping me achieve this goal. Here is a outline of the classes I have taken so far.

High School
    Freshman - Physical Science and Algebra 1
    Sophomore - Biology and Geometry
    Junior (Classes I'm enrolled for 07-08 year) - Pre-AP Chemistry, Weighted Physics and Weighted Algebra 2
    Senior - Classes are Unknown at this time

(My school offers a wide spectrum of classes. You name it we most likely got it)

College (Summer time)
    I am currently enrolled at my local community college. There I am taking a combination of Algebra 1 and 2. But after I successfully completed my Algebra 2 for high school this will open a huge door of higher mathematics. And I was wondering was classes would be most benefit me for this particular career pathway I am interested in.

Any suggestions on books, scientific magazines, web sites, etc that might help me get a head start on the next year is greatly appreciated.
    Thank you.

Last edited: Jun 27, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 27, 2007 #2
    why would you be taking college algebra in the summer and then algebra 2 at school? take pre cal/trig in your junior year then take calc 1 the summer of your junior year and maybe physics 1 concurrently at community college then take ap calc 2 senior year then the summer in between high school and college take calc 3 and physics 2. you'll be one of the most prepared freshman ever.

4. Jun 27, 2007 #3
    it's difficult to give any sort of recommendations without knowing what choices you have for mathematics and physics courses.