Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Best drummer ever

1. Feb 16, 2009 #1
    Who would make your list of the top drummers ever.
    Mike Portnoy, Neil Pert, Buddy Rich.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 16, 2009 #2

turbo

Gold Member

John Bonham.

4. Feb 16, 2009 #3

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

animal

5. Feb 16, 2009 #4

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Phil Collins

[no, I'm not]

6. Feb 16, 2009 #5

Tom Mattson

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

There's Bonham, and then there's everybody else.

7. Feb 16, 2009 #6

turbo

Gold Member

My sentiments exactly. I'm a guitarist and vocalist and tend to "key in" on those, but Bonham commanded my attention each and every time. When I listen to Led Zep, I always hear Bonham. If the question had been "who was the best rhythm section", I'd have to go with Mick Fleetwood and John MacVie. Peter Green named his band after them for a reason.

8. Feb 16, 2009 #7

Chi Meson

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

We all know who Buddy Rich would say.

I think it might be Buddy Rich, but I'm gonna say Dave Grohl.

9. Feb 16, 2009 #8
    Rick Allen, hands down... errrr... hand down :cool:.

10. Feb 16, 2009 #9

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What comes to mind: Bonham, Keith Moon (The Who), Ian Paice (Purple), Peart (Rush), the Dreamtheater drummer, The Police's drummer, Niko McBrain (Maiden), Ringo, Lars Ulrich, Nick Mason, the drummer for Queen, Ginger Baker, John Densmore.

I'm certain I'm missing out a few more good ones.

11. Feb 16, 2009 #10
    You can't top buddy rich. He had a left hand roll that obliterated most two hand rolls.

12. Feb 16, 2009 #11

turbo

Gold Member