Best drummer ever

Who would make your list of the top drummers ever.
Mike Portnoy, Neil Pert, Buddy Rich.

Answers and Replies

turbo
Gold Member
John Bonham.

mgb_phys
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
animal

russ_watters
Mentor
Phil Collins

[no, I'm not]

Tom Mattson
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
There's Bonham, and then there's everybody else.

turbo
Gold Member
There's Bonham, and then there's everybody else.
My sentiments exactly. I'm a guitarist and vocalist and tend to "key in" on those, but Bonham commanded my attention each and every time. When I listen to Led Zep, I always hear Bonham. If the question had been "who was the best rhythm section", I'd have to go with Mick Fleetwood and John MacVie. Peter Green named his band after them for a reason.

Chi Meson
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
We all know who Buddy Rich would say.

I think it might be Buddy Rich, but I'm gonna say Dave Grohl.

Rick Allen, hands down... errrr... hand down :cool:.

Gokul43201
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
What comes to mind: Bonham, Keith Moon (The Who), Ian Paice (Purple), Peart (Rush), the Dreamtheater drummer, The Police's drummer, Niko McBrain (Maiden), Ringo, Lars Ulrich, Nick Mason, the drummer for Queen, Ginger Baker, John Densmore.

I'm certain I'm missing out a few more good ones.

You can't top buddy rich. He had a left hand roll that obliterated most two hand rolls.

turbo
Gold Member
You can't top buddy rich. He had a left hand roll that obliterated most two hand rolls.
Have you heard the tape "Buddy thanks the band"? Buddy was good but not even a fraction as good as he thought he was. I do have a copy of his drum battle with Roach and it is a really good CD. Still think Bonham is tops though.