Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Big Bang as an extrapolation

1. Oct 31, 2007 #1

OOO

Today I have been travelling across the night sky with Google Earth a bit. As always I'm surprised about how inspiring the cosmos is for thinking about physics. But I've always been quite skeptical about the big bang theory. Nowadays we're unable to simulate even a single hadron. And the observation of the sun seems to be a constant source of surprise about it's inner workings.

Yet people claim in detail about how the big bang took place and what happened when. I don't say the big bang is wrong because I'm not an expert in cosmology. But isnt't it a rather foolhardy extrapolation ? I have no philosophical (or whatever psychologically or religiously motivated) problem with a big bang apart from finding it a little strange that there should have been a singular event where such a huge amount of energy has been accidentally created from the vacuum. But if it was that way, well, okay.

What I do have a problem with is the assumption that the laws of physics have been the same for 13 billion years and/or over a distance of 13 billion lightyears. Who can say that ? Probably masses and coupling constants are just a matter of boundary conditions.

If I were to bet my son's life on the big bang, I would never ever do so.

So what makes you cosmologists so sure about that thing ?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 31, 2007 #2

EL

Science Advisor