Big Data in Physics: Quantum Mechanics/Particle Physics for Undergrads?

In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate physics major looking to do a project in quantum mechanics or particle physics for their Big Data analytics course. They are unsure if it is possible at their level and are seeking pointers and information on obtaining training data, particularly from the LHC or similar projects. However, it is mentioned that the LHC data is viewed as proprietary and making a copy is not practical. The speaker expresses difficulty in finding alternative sources of data and asks for advice on how to obtain it.
Ananthan9470
I am an undergraduate physics major and I am taking a course on Big Data analytics. For the semester project, our professor has asked up to take up any field that interest us and do a project in that. I want to do something related to quantum mechanics or particle physics. Is that possible at my level?(right now I am taking 400 level classes). Can someone please give me some pointers? I also need to know where I can get the training data from. Can I get data from for example the LHC or similar projects?

Physics news on Phys.org
The LHC data is viewed as proprietary by the experiments, but even if it were not, each experiment has something like 30 petabytes of data. "Making your own copy" is not really practical.

Vanadium 50 said:
The LHC data is viewed as proprietary by the experiments, but even if it were not, each experiment has something like 30 petabytes of data. "Making your own copy" is not really practical.

I was afraid of something like this but is there really nothing else that might be open to the public? I don't even know how to begin searching for this. SImple google searches doesn't not seem to be giving anything definite. If someone can even tell me how to go about trying to gain this data, that would be great. I am open to any field in physics( but preferably quantum mechanics and particle physics )