1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Big future: Major choice

1. Aug 10, 2013 #1
    Hello!
    I am a senior high school student and althought I am planning to make an earl application for college I am still not sure about my college major.I am between Aerospace engineering, Naval architecture and maybe architecture. I am in Turkey and when I looked at the recommended high school courses for aerospace engineering I saw that ap calculus ,physics.But that is not how it works in my country we have just two options either scientific or litterature fields.
    I choose science but still not sure if the courses ı have taken are enough to study aerospace.
    I also wonder if aerospace engineering is very very hard because I see this everywhere.

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 10, 2013 #2
    Are you looking at universities in Turkey or in other countries?

4. Aug 10, 2013 #3
    I wish to study in USA or in France.

5. Aug 11, 2013 #4
    Turkish high school goes up to grade 11, right? I think there is a new 12 year system but that is for people starting school at age 6 or 7 this year.

There must be a way for French or American universities to accept Turkish students. I guess you can tell if you are qualified by looking at what you are studying. Are you studying calculus?

I would still apply to Turkish universities. No matter where you live in Turkey it must be easier to go to Ankara and Istanbul than France or the US.

6. Aug 11, 2013 #5
    The importance of choosing a major right away is way, way overblown. I didn't even become a math major until I was mid-way through my second year; before that I was a political science major!