Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Binders in SSP fertilizer

1. Jun 15, 2012 #1
    Dear Forum

I am a junior engineer newly appointed by a fertilizer production company. I have been given the assignment to improve the SSP granule hardness and storage characteristics. Currently the granules are too soft and the drying time prior to bagging is also long. I am considering adding a binding agent to the fertilizer. I have considered sodium silicate, potassium silicate, lignosulfonates or bentonite clay as possible agents. However I am having considerable trouble finding reliable information regarding the use of these agents and the application methods. For example I am worried that if I should use sodium silicate, the granules' water solubility would be lowered considerably after drying in the drier. The fertilizer powder is granulated using drum granulators and water. Any advice or information is sincerely appreciated.

Regards
    Rommie

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 23, 2012 #2
    I am sure you will find literature from bentonite producers, and it can be added as a slurry to bind or act as a final coat. It should also become somewhat hydrophobic if a small amount of biodegradable surfactant is used in formulating. Look in patent literature with appropriate boolean search terms.

I would steer clear of silicates as they could render any micronutrients as insoluble rock. Also silicates can be hard to dry compared to clays.

4. Jul 2, 2012 #3
    Hi