What are the properties and connections between bit strings and graph theory?

In summary, the conversation discusses the graph G whose vertices are bit-strings of length n and whose edges are formed by joining bit-strings that differ in exactly two places. The conversation provides examples and suggests arranging the vertices as a cube for better visualization. It also discusses the regularity of G, the necessary and sufficient condition for a path to exist between two vertices in G, and the number of connected components of G. The conversation concludes by offering further assistance if needed.
miraclepie
I am not really sure how to start this problem, and I have tried searching everywhere. If you could help me that would be great...just to know how to get started. I'm in 2nd Year, Intro to discrete mathematics, if it matters. Thanks

Let G be a graph whose vertices correspond to the bit-strings of length n.

a=a1a2...an

Where ai= 0 or 1, and whose edges are formed by joining those bit-strings which differ in exactly two places.

a) show that G is regular, that is, every vertex has the same degree, and find the degree of each vertex.

b) Find a necessary and sufficient condition that there exist a path joining two vertices a=a1a2…an and b=b1b2…bn in G.

c) Find the number of connected components of G.

Physics news on Phys.org
If you really have no clue on how to do a question like this, the first thing I'd do is look at some concrete examples. Try to work out the question for n=1, 2, 3, and maybe 4 if you need to (1 and 2 should be exceedingly dull). By working out these examples, you should be able to see why a) is true, and probably guess on what the degree will be for a given n as well as a conjecture for b) and c) in the general case.