Black Holes Formalism: Overview of Misner Sharp Mass

In summary, the Misner-Sharp mass is a term in the Vaidya metric that arises in the Schwarzschild solution. Matthias Blau's GR Lecture Notes are a highly recommended source for studying this topic. There may be a typo in eq(35.116) on p804 compared to an earlier equation. For those studying Vaidya solutions, it may be helpful to also consult other materials. Outgoing light rays define the event horizon of a black hole, but for an evaporating hole, the specific light rays that define the horizon are slightly outside the horizon, allowing for radiation to escape from just outside the horizon. This is due to the horizon's area slowly decreasing over time.
AHSAN MUJTABA
TL;DR Summary
I want to know by just an introduction along with some example to visualize, that what is Misner Sharp mass?
I am currently studying the Vaidya metrics and I am a bit confused regarding the term Misner Sharp mass, and I am referring to Blau notes and in them the description is very deep which I surely don't need but just an overview. TIA

Space news on Phys.org
AHSAN MUJTABA said:
I am referring to Blau notes

Can you give a specific reference?

@PeterDonis : He's talking about Matthias Blau's GR Lecture Notes. Blau is head of the Gravity and String Theory Group within Bern University. I began using Blau notes some years ago and they have gradually become one of my top 3 go-to sources when I want to check something, or explore some aspect more deeply. I hope Blau eventually finds a publisher for these notes.

@AHSAN MUJTABA : I'm not sure why you're finding this so difficult. The Misner-Sharp mass is essentially just the "M" term which arises in the Schwarzschild solution, but becomes ##M(t,r)## in the more general case of a Vaidya metric if one has a spherically symmetric ##T_{\mu\nu}##.