What is the shape of a black hole and how does it appear from behind?

• Thread starter izzie
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Blackhole
In summary, a black hole is an object with near infite mass and little/no volume, and the singularity at the bottom of the funnel is called the "quantum singularity". It is an object with a 3d shape, but is it really? The matter is being pulled into the singularity and there is only one acceleration disc, but how can it be if you go around the back of the black hole?
izzie
Hello everyone!
I'm a student in the UK who just finished my GCSE's and I am very interesting in physics particularly quantum physics, though i have little knowledge of it. So a black hole is also called a "quantum singularity"? And it is an object with near infite mass and little/no volume (correct me if I am wrong). What i don't understand is, the shape of a black hole is like that of a funnel, with the singularity at the bottom of this funnel and an acceleration disc at the top, and this suggests its a 3d shape but is it. How can it be if the matter is being pulled into the singualirty and there is only one acceleration disc? Surely if you were to go around the back of a black hole it would appear empty? I don't know if i make sense and i know i sound stupid but I am just interested to find out.

Izz

Physics news on Phys.org
In general relativity, which is non-quantum, the center of the black hole is just a classical singularity; the density goes to infinity there. But there is current effort to quantize GR gravity (see the subforum "Strings Branes and LQG" for news about that). And in some of these quantization programs, the singularity goes away, due to, for example, the operation of the uncertainty principle at short ranges.

izzie said:
Hello everyone!