Book Suggestions for Graduate Physics Exam

In summary, the conversation was about a civil engineer seeking book suggestions for graduate level physics topics, including quantum physics. The engineer was looking for a comprehensive book that covers all details in one volume, and the suggestions included "Physics for Scientists & Engineers" by Serway and Jewett and "University Physics" by Young and Freedman. One person also recommended Paul A Tipler's books, particularly "Modern Physics" and "Physics for Scientists and Engineers." There was also a brief discussion about the connection between quantum mechanics and a forestry position.
Yadvendra
Summary:: Need book suggestion for following syllabus. (Globally available hardcopy is preferred)

I'm a civil engineer and need to study graduate level physics for an exam. I need suggestion for a book consisting basic to moderate depth of the topics below. I've comfortable with both, algebra and calculus based physics.
Ps. I studied Physics during my high school but topics like quantum physics are totally new to me.

Attachments

• C6FB9CC8-74C3-479F-ACCE-4AABCFD2C583(1).pdf
    145.5 KB · Views: 247
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to the PF. :smile:

Are there any schools that offer coursework per this syllabus? If so, I'd check out their textbook list as a starting point. This seems like a fairly specialized exam, so studying from general textbooks may not work as well as finding out what textbooks are fine-tuned for this coursework and exam.

berkeman said:
Welcome to the PF. :smile:

Are there any schools that offer coursework per this syllabus? If so, I'd check out their textbook list as a starting point. This seems like a fairly specialized exam, so studying from general textbooks may not work as well as finding out what textbooks are fine-tuned for this coursework and exam.