1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Books about groups

1. Jul 23, 2011 #1
    Does any one know of a good book to read about groups for algebra? Ive head that a good book was "A Book of Abstract Algebra" by Charles R. Pinter. And im just learning about groups so it should be basic.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 23, 2011 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

You probably have the Pinter-book from me :biggrin: But yes, I can recommend it very much. The book is basic in the sense that it's completely self-contained. It's quite an easy book, but it eventually manages to get into Galois theory!!
    The thing I like about the Pinter book is that it reads like a novel. It's like the author is talking with you. It's certainly not a typical math book where there is a definition-theorem-proof structure.
    I do recommend making all the exercises, though. A lot of time, much of the important results are hidden in the exercises.

Another nice book is Fraleigh, but I didn't read that one yet.

4. Jul 23, 2011 #3
    If you're looking for an introductory text, I'm a big fan of Armstrong's Groups and Symmetry. You'll want to pair it with another standard introductory text (say, Gilbert's Elements of Modern Algebra), since the presentation is highly geometrical and slightly different from what you'll see in most texts.

5. Jul 23, 2011 #4
    thanks for the responses.

6. Jul 23, 2011 #5
    Pinter is great. A superb book for very little cost.

I also enjoyed looking through this book:

Visual Group Theory by Carter
    http://web.bentley.edu/empl/c/ncarter/vgt/