1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Books on complex variables

1. Jun 24, 2013 #1
    As an electrical engineering student can learning about complex variables be beneficial to me? If so can someone recommend an introductory book that I can read on my own? Also I have very little experience working with complex variables.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 24, 2013 #2

lurflurf

Homework Helper

Learning can be complex variables be very beneficial to you. Many things are beneficial to learn unfortunately we have so little time to learn them. When choosing a book experience working with complex variables is unimportant compared to experience with mathematics in general. My favorite introductory book is Complex Analysis by Serge Lang, besides being a good book in general it is written with students with minimal background in mind and the goal of greatly increasing their knowledge. That said if want something lighter you might start with an engineering math book (most of which have an introduction to complex variables), something like Complex Variables and Applications by James Brown and Ruel Churchill or Applied Complex Variables John W. Dettman. I also highly recommend Visual Complex Analysis by Tristan Needham for getting a conceptual understanding.

4. Jun 24, 2013 #3
    Thank you for the recommendations. I found all the books on pdf except for Applied Complex Variables John W. Dettman. I am currently reading a book on differential equations, linear algebra, and I'll choose from one of the books you recommended. Are there any other math fields that you can think of that will be beneficial?

5. Jun 24, 2013 #4