Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Books to start off with

1. Jan 7, 2004 #1
    I am new to most all of the concepts in modern theoretical physics. What are the must read books to start off with to develop a basic understanding of the basic principles of modern theoretical physics.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 8, 2004 #2
    Do you have any physics background at all?

4. Jan 8, 2004 #3
    I have my bachelors in Mechanical Engineering from Cornell and have taken three semesters of Physics. I have a good knowledge up to the subject of basic quantum physics.

5. Jan 8, 2004 #4
    you say basic quantum mechanics. i m not sure how basic is basic, but before you go on to more theoretical stuff, you should be feeling pretty comfortable with a book like Shankar or Sakurai.

and if you know quantum mechanics, your next step is quantum field theory, and general relativity.

for an easier book in quantum field theory, i suggest Greiner and Reinhardt. for a slightly more advanced book but still very well suited to self study, i suggest this new book by Zee. i read a few chapters in a bookstore, and it was kind of nifty.

Ryder is a serious book, and Weinberg is the bible.

for GR, i think a nice easier book is Hartle, but the nicest book available is probably Wald.

then after that, i guess you want to start on string theory, since you posted in this string theory forum. well i would suggest getting both Green Schwarz and Witten, and Polchinski. GSW is easier to read (in my opinion), but polchinski is more modern. Clifford Johnson has a great book on D-branes. you might also like to have a suppliment a book on conformal field theory. for that, i suggest Di Francesco.

after that, there aren t really many more textbooks, you should just do all your reading on the archiv.