Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Boost converter

1. Aug 19, 2010 #1
    hi, i am pretty new with electronics, and i cant find any simple boost converter circuts on the enternet. i would like to make the circut THE MOST SIMPLE i can, with the fewest possible parts. for a power source, i have 9v-1w. for the output power, i would like to send a thin spark from 1 electrode to the other about 1/8"-1/4" apart as a substitute as a spark plug. schematics, diagrams, photos, links all would be helpful, but keep in mind that about all i can do is solder, and go to raioshack.
    thanks,
    Ben

edit: here is a simple curcut i found(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Boost_circuit.png), and i understand everything but the switch. how would i get a switch that switches the flow of electricity off-on that fast?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 19, 2010 #2

Zryn

Gold Member

That diagram of a switch shows the basic principle of 'on and off', however in practice people use a MOSFET.

A MOSFET comes in an IC package, and is controlled by a PWM (square wave generator) IC, which supplies a voltage that turns the MOSFET on and off periodically with a desired frequency and duty cycle. Depending on the application, the PWM IC voltage may not be large enough to active the MOSFET, so a Gate Driver IC acts as an interim amplifier/control IC. Looking more into these three items should give you an abundance of information on how to create a robust electronic switch.

4. Aug 19, 2010 #3

mheslep

Gold Member

5. Aug 21, 2010 #4
    The biggest bear for you, is to have a decent transformer / inductor. Time to get an old car ignition coil.
    The kind you want is old-style. It will be about the size of a soda can with an insulated section coming out the top and two terminals, one on either side of the insulated terminal.