Achieving Academic Success After High School Burnout

• Thread starter ClopClop
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Death
In summary, the protagonist used to be an excellent student but has now burned out. In grade 10, they had a superb teacher for their science course which helped them stay enthusiastic. However, in grades 11 and 12 they got a new "kickstart" because they had the same teacher for their physics course and did well. However, they are worried about not being properly prepared for university and have developed bad habits.
ClopClop
I used to be an extremely good student in grade 8, top in my grade in the sciences, and pretty darn good at math. I won every single academic award available to my grade. Grade 9 was similar...but I was already beginning to burn out.

Grade 10, I got a new "kickstart", because I had this superb teacher for my science course. He wouldn't waste time explaining tiny,simple details again and again, instead he would teach us the stuff nice and quick, and then tell us interesting things about what we were learning. Some of those interesting things would be the history behind the science we were learning, interesting applications, etc. He always focused more on concepts, problem solving, deriving equations, etc. then on plug and chug bulllgarbage.He would always give us constant challenges in class, by asking us questions frequently on what we were learning, and his problem sets were lame pieces of crap meant for rote memorization. They were...not boring. I did extremely well.

Grade 11 came, and I still had that enthusiasm in me, but by the end I was pretty burned out.