Boundary and homeomorphism

In summary, the statement is true if and only if the following conditions are met:-bA is the boundary of the subset A of X-F(bA) is the boundary of the subset F(A) of Y
aleazk
Gold Member
Hi, I need to know if the following statement is false or true. Given two topological spaces, X and Y, and an homeomorphism, F, between them, if bA is the boundary of the subset A of X, this implies that F(bA) is the boundary of the subset F(A) of Y?

Physics news on Phys.org
What did you try already?? What is the definition of the boundary??

sorry if this is a silly question, I'm new in topology. bA=CA-IA, where CA is the closure and IA is the interior.

aleazk said:
sorry if this is a silly question, I'm new in topology. bA=CA-IA, where CA is the closure and IA is the interior.

Indeed, so what happens if you take

[tex]f(CA-IA)[/tex]

can you show that this equals [itex]Cf(A)-If(A)[/itex]??

Simplified, can you show that

[tex]Cf(A)=f(CA)~\text{and}~If(A)=f(IA)[/tex]

aleazk said:

That is equivalent to saying that point p is in the boundary of A if and only if any open set containing p contains points in A and points not in A. And, of course, homeomorphisms map open sets to open sets.

HallsofIvy said:
That is equivalent to saying that point p is in the boundary of A if and only if any open set containing p contains points in A and points not in A. And, of course, homeomorphisms map open sets to open sets.

So, using the property AcB then F[A]cF of maps, the open sets that contain F(p) will also contain points inside and outside of F[A], and then F(p) is in the boundary of F[A] if p is in the boundary of A?

aleazk said:
So, using the property AcB then F[A]cF of maps, the open sets that contain F(p) will also contain points inside and outside of F[A], and then F(p) is in the boundary of F[A] if p is in the boundary of A?