Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Boundary and homeomorphism

1. Aug 4, 2011 #1

aleazk

Gold Member

Hi, I need to know if the following statement is false or true. Given two topological spaces, X and Y, and an homeomorphism, F, between them, if bA is the boundary of the subset A of X, this implies that F(bA) is the boundary of the subset F(A) of Y?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2011 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

What did you try already?? What is the definition of the boundary??

4. Aug 4, 2011 #3

aleazk

Gold Member

sorry if this is a silly question, I'm new in topology. bA=CA-IA, where CA is the closure and IA is the interior.

5. Aug 4, 2011 #4

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Indeed, so what happens if you take

[tex]f(CA-IA)[/tex]

can you show that this equals [itex]Cf(A)-If(A)[/itex]??

Simplified, can you show that

[tex]Cf(A)=f(CA)~\text{and}~If(A)=f(IA)[/tex]

6. Aug 5, 2011 #5

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

That is equivalent to saying that point p is in the boundary of A if and only if any open set containing p contains points in A and points not in A. And, of course, homeomorphisms map open sets to open sets.

7. Aug 8, 2011 #6

aleazk

Gold Member

So, using the property AcB then F[A]cF of maps, the open sets that contain F(p) will also contain points inside and outside of F[A], and then F(p) is in the boundary of F[A] if p is in the boundary of A?

8. Aug 8, 2011 #7

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Indeed!! You may want to rigorize that however. For example, why will open sets containing F(p) also contain points in and out F(A)?

9. Aug 8, 2011 #8

aleazk

Gold Member