What are some ways to further explore the brachistochrone problem?

In summary, the student is seeking help with the brachistochrone problem in their second year of studying math, physics, and informatics. They have already made some progress, including finding the parametric equation of the cycloid and writing programs to draw the curve. However, they are unsure of how to continue and are seeking indications for further research. They mention the possibility of exploring curves generated by other geometric figures, friction actions in physics, and using informatics, but are not sure how to apply these ideas to the problem. They also apologize for any language errors as they are still learning English.
janonus

Homework Statement

Hi I'm in second year of study in Math, Physic and Informatic and I require some help.
I began a work on the brachistochrone problem. It's really interesting and I already found lot of things (the equation of the cycloid by the Bernoulli's method, I wrote some programs which draw the curve between two point,... )
But after this first researchs and results I don't know how to continue... Could you help me, give me some indication to go further ?

2. Homework Equations

Parametric equation of the cycloid

The Attempt at a Solution

Further in math : curves generate by other geometric figures ?
Further in physics : friction actions ? Speed font ion of the time ?
Further in Informatic : No idea...

Thank's for your help :)

PS : excuse me for my English... I'm French and I'm still learning !

Physics news on Phys.org
janonus said:

Homework Statement

Hi I'm in second year of study in Math, Physic and Informatic and I require some help.
I began a work on the brachistochrone problem. It's really interesting and I already found lot of things (the equation of the cycloid by the Bernoulli's method, I wrote some programs which draw the curve between two point,... )