Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Brushless DC motor control

1. May 22, 2007 #1
    Hi guys,

I'm developing a BLDC motor controller with load. I've bought a Maxon E40 motor . But some things i can't figure out:

I wanna control position, speed and current (torque). I use PID controller to do it. In the closed loop system the output of the speed controller should be input of current PID controller.

1) is this above true?

2) is it true that the torque and current are propotional also with the load???

example: If the torque constant is 2Nm/A and my load is 1Nm i need 0,5A to move the load??? or is the torque constant only propotional on no loaded motor...???

btw: why is it needful to controll the current???
    Last edited: May 22, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 16, 2007 #2
    BLDC motor in printer

I am studying about BLDC motor.
    My teacher gave me a BLDC motor which is in printer machine.
    however I don't how to control.
    It has 11 unknown outputs.(its seems to be use HALL IC 4 pins)
    I have some pic about my motor but i don't how to post.
    If there is anyone knowing about it.give ur opinion.
    Thanks you very much.
  4. Oct 16, 2007 #3
    bldc motors are a bit complicated. there's some tutorial around the web explaining how BLDC's work. Last i work on it few months back, the current supplied controls the speed of the motor. current is controlled by chopping the driver or somewhat essentially shutting it on/off. i was using A3936.

a BLDC motor typically has 8 connector. 3 for each motor phase, 3 for hall sensor (1 sensor for each phase), 1 power supply Vcc for sensor, 1 gnd for sensor.