• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

BSc Physics(Honours) student from India wants info on U.K.Uni's offering MSc Physics

• Thread starter radhikak
  • Start date
Hi All,
I am a BSc Physics Honours student at the University of Delhi in India. I am interested in pursuing an MSc in Physics from a good university in the U.K. I am looking for information regarding the univs offering MSc in Physics, TA's/RA's /funding for foreign students, information on eligibility and the admission process. One of my concerns is whether i would be eligible for admission as BSc in India is a three year course.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

cristo

Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Re: BSc Physics(Honours) student from India wants info on U.K.Uni's offering MSc Phys

I'm not sure I can be much help, since your question is very general, and may depend on what specifically you want to study. Some general answers, though: I wouldn't worry about eligibility, since BSc degrees in the UK are only 3 years long as well. As for TA/RA grants: they don't exist for master's degrees in the UK. You might be lucky and get some international funding, but this will depend on the university and department. I haven't heard of anyone get funding for a masters degree, but that isn't to say you won't be able to.. just that it's uncommon.

Noo

Re: BSc Physics(Honours) student from India wants info on U.K.Uni's offering MSc Phys

A BSc is 3 years in the UK, but a BSc Hons (which is what radhikak speaks of) is 4 years. I do see occasional MSc Studentships being advertised - though usually not from any of the 'top' UK Universities - and i'm not sure if they include funding for International Students.

cristo

Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor

A BSc is 3 years in the UK, but a BSc Hons (which is what radhikak speaks of) is 4 years.
Erm.. no it's not! E.g. http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/ugstudy/course.php?code=000281