But my spin can't flip

• Thread starter wizzart
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Spin
In summary, Daniel is studying for a QM course test and came up with a confusing argument. He thinks that when measuring a quantity, the state afterward will be the eigenstate of the observable corresponding to the measured eigenvalue. However, this is not the case. The state afterward will be the eigenstate of the observable corresponding to the measured eigenvalue, but it will be a superposition of the |z_up> and |z_down> vectors.
wizzart
I'm studying for a QM course test, and I was just doing a little thinking about the pauli matrices in a distracted moment. I came up with something, that to my knowledge isn't right, but I can't figure out where my argument goes 'boink'.

The case is this:
Imagine I have an electron polarised in the positive z-direction (call it |z_up> ). And can prepare this for instance with a Stern Gerlach apparatus.
Now I perform a measurement on the spin in an orthogonal direction, say the x-direction. I either find |x_up> or |x_down>. Whatever the result, it can be expressed as a superposition of |z_up> and |z_down>, more specifically as one of the following 2 vectors: (1,1) or (1,-1) in the z-basis.

Until this point, I think I got it right. Now comes what disturbs me:
Measuring is mathematically represented by a Hermitian matrix, in this case the matrix S_x. But letting S_x act on (1,0) (wich is |z_up>) gives me (0,1), which would say that my spin flipped in the z-direction.

Now I think the problem is that I'm misusing/interpreting S_x...but I can't figure out what would be the correct procedure...

Physics news on Phys.org
It makes no sense to speak of electrons (s=1/2) and infer spin eigen vectors like (1,1),(1,0) and (1,-1) which are not for a 1/2 spin particle.

So reformulate your problem,unless you didn't mean the kets [itex] |1,1\rangle,|1,0\rangle,|1,-1\rangle [/itex],but something else.

Daniel.