1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

But my spin can't flip!

1. Jun 16, 2005 #1
    I'm studying for a QM course test, and I was just doing a little thinking about the pauli matrices in a distracted moment. I came up with something, that to my knowledge isn't right, but I can't figure out where my argument goes 'boink'.

The case is this:
    Imagine I have an electron polarised in the positive z-direction (call it |z_up> ). And can prepare this for instance with a Stern Gerlach apparatus.
    Now I perform a measurement on the spin in an orthogonal direction, say the x-direction. I either find |x_up> or |x_down>. Whatever the result, it can be expressed as a superposition of |z_up> and |z_down>, more specifically as one of the following 2 vectors: (1,1) or (1,-1) in the z-basis.

Until this point, I think I got it right. Now comes what disturbs me:
    Measuring is mathematically represented by a Hermitian matrix, in this case the matrix S_x. But letting S_x act on (1,0) (wich is |z_up>) gives me (0,1), wich would say that my spin flipped in the z-direction.

Now I think the problem is that I'm misusing/interpreting S_x...but I can't figure out what would be the correct procedure...

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 16, 2005 #2

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

It makes no sense to speak of electrons (s=1/2) and infer spin eigen vectors like (1,1),(1,0) and (1,-1) which are not for a 1/2 spin particle.

So reformulate your problem,unless you didn't mean the kets [itex] |1,1\rangle,|1,0\rangle,|1,-1\rangle [/itex],but something else.

Daniel.

4. Jun 16, 2005 #3