C++ not object oriented?

• Thread starter C0mmie
  • Start date
I am a student of computer science, and naturally was shocked when, during my recent trip to a bookstore, was told that C++ in not really object oriented. The guy at the store referred me to a language called Smalltalk, which is supposedly the true object oriented language. I assume that most people would share my point of view in agreeing that C++ is an object oriented language, but can someone explain to me why it would not be considered as such, while Smalltalk would.

damgo

C++ is object-oriented; however, the OO is basically welded on top of a language (C) not designed for that purpose. So the design is less-than-optimal, and it can be a pain in the ass to use sometimes. Those of us that remember using tempates and STL in the old days know this well... :)

Smalltalk was IIRC one of the first OO designed languages, but there are many others. I like Java, personally.

Hello!
You can read:

Hi!
Of-course "Class" is good as it reflects OOP, but in contests (Real Time) though you have "BigInt" type class, you then can use the functions only. You don't need to write the OOP feature based codes.

But, the class need to be well implemented in sense of OOP and as well as proper memory usage and readability. I am learning Java (and C#) and I like it as a developer's language which is for internet programming and other professional works, But not suitable for contests.