Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

C++ Question help >

1. Jul 31, 2006 #1
    hey people,

Im a beginner when it comes to programming and i have just stated C++..Im finding it a bit hard and boring but its only the beginning, so i think that it would get better as i move on....Anyway i need some help with these questions...

BTW for your info: Im using a book called "A gentle introduction to C++" by Dan Hawhorn...
    So here are my questions:

Part A
    1)Enter a number from the keyboard
    2)Test the number to make sure it is a positive integer
    3)If not, loop back and re enter a new number
    4)Calculate the display the sum of all integers from 1....
    5)e.g. If N = 8, then Sum = 1+2+3+4+5+6+7+8 = 36

Part B

1) Enter a number from the keyboard
    2) Test the number to make sure it is a positive integer, less than 18
    3) (otherwise the result will be too large)
    4) If not, loop back to re enter a new number
    5) Calculate and display the product of all integers from 1.....N
    6) e.g. If N = 5, then product = 1*2*3*4*5 = 120 = 5! = 5 factorial.

I would be most happy if anyone could help me with writing these programs......

The program i am using is Dev-C++, oh and i am progressing through those tutorials(stickies) on the top...

Thanks a lot
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 31, 2006 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Can you show us your thoughts on how these programs might be written? We can help you, if you can show us where you're stuck.

- Warren
  4. Jul 31, 2006 #3

Staff: Mentor

Here's a general tip: Don't try to write the entire program at once! Do part of it, and test it, then move on to another part and test it, etc. For example, your Part A divides neatly into two sections that you can solve separately: