1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Cal vs Chicago

1. Apr 7, 2006 #1
    Hello,

I am currently a high school student and I have been accepted into both UC Berkeley and the University of Chicago. I plan to major in math or physics, but I have no idea which college I want to go to. From what you know of their undergraduate mathematics or physics programs, which would you recommend. (Disregard all other factors i.e. location cost etc.)
    I plan on e-mailing both departments at both schools as well.

Thank you

I appreciate your input very much.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 7, 2006 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Honestly, you cannot go wrong with both, especially for an undergraduate education. Both schools are well-respected, and both schools have strong ties to a US National labs - UC-Berkeley with LBNL and Chicago with ANL. So even if you pick one by tossing a coin, you can't go wrong.

Congratulations. It is quite an accomplishment to get accepted to both schools.

Zz.

4. Apr 7, 2006 #3
    Cali got the better weather and lets not forget the honies. Studying is good and all but I did not goto college not to get my share. =)

5. Apr 11, 2006 #4
    Chicago sounds like such an awesome place. Chicago was probably the only school that I was truly dissapointed about getting denied from

6. Apr 15, 2006 #5
    I'm a second year undergraduate student doing Applied Mathematics in UC Berkeley and I'm very content with what the program offers.

The physics program is good as well (I will actually be minoring in Physics) and all the research is done up the hill in Lawrence Berkeley Labs (which is cool because it's nearby).