1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculate dipole moment

1. Aug 18, 2012 #1

mzh

In the below figure, i'm supposed to express the z-coordinate of the point [itex]P[/itex], [itex]z'[/itex], by the angle [itex]\theta[/itex]

9007238.png

Does this work out as [itex]z' = R\cdot \cos \theta[/itex]? If so, I cant see why...

Please give me a hint on this.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 18, 2012 #2
    Re: I'm not good at trigonometry...

It pretty clearly says [itex]P_z = z'[/itex]. Where is P?

4. Aug 18, 2012 #3

mzh

Sorry, [itex]P[/itex] "is" at [¡tex]P_z[/itex]. Its the z-component of the point.

5. Aug 18, 2012 #4

If this is exactly the information you were given, then I see no way to solve the problem. [itex]z'[/itex] could be [itex]R + 1[/itex] or [itex]R+1000[/itex] and it wouldn't affect anything. Is this diagram the only information you were given, or is it constructed to match some sort of word problem?

Edit: most often, the angle is supposed to tell you the angle between the z-axis and the vector point [itex]P[/itex]. It's unusual to say [itex]P_z = z'[/itex] and then to say P lies on the z-axis.

6. Aug 19, 2012 #5

mzh

yes, I'm trying to picture the problem. [itex]P[/itex] lies on the z-axis because the charge distribution is symmetric around z, and I indicated its z-component as [itex]P_z[/itex] and set it arbitrarily to [itex]z'[/itex].