Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculating Density/Specific Volume

1. Feb 7, 2005 #1

minger

Science Advisor

This is my first time here and I'd just like to say HI first of all.

Anyways, I have flowing water at a known temperature and pressure. Call it pure water. What is the best way to get the density or specific volume from this? I am at very high pressures (800 psig) so I do not want to approximate it as a saturated liquid, however, I can't find any tables or anything like that. Any help is appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 7, 2005 #2

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

4. Feb 7, 2005 #3

minger

Science Advisor

Yes yes, but the one in my textbook doesn't have pressures as high as I would like. If this is the only way to get it, is there someplace that I can get a larger chart, or possibly just an enlargement of the chart above the critical point?

5. Feb 7, 2005 #4

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

The critical point conditions for water are:

Critical Temperature: 705 °F
    Critical Pressure: 3203.6 psia
    Critical specific volume: 0.0505 ft3/lbm

But only the pressure (800 psig) is mentioned, and this pressure is well below the critical point pressure. Depending on the temperature, one will compressed liquid, saturated (2 phase) liquid-vapor, or superheated steam. Each domain has a different T-v relationship.

6. Feb 8, 2005 #5

minger

Science Advisor

Is there somewhere I can find T-v relationships, a chart maybe? I know how to get all the properties for a saturated liquid, a saturated mixture, and superheated gas. But, as said before, is there someplace (online hopefully) that I can get a "bigger" P-v diagram for water. Or, based on what Astronuc just said, somewhere that I can find a T-v diagram (which I would assume has lines of constant pressure).

Thanks a lot for the help so far.

7. Feb 9, 2005 #6

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus