Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculating resistance

1. Mar 31, 2016 #1
    Hi,

I am just starting out learning about DC curcuits and I have been presented with a formula in my learning materials to calculate the resistance of a 1km length of 0.6mm diameter copper wire.

The formula is attached as an image with the Answer 60Ω

My question is how would you enter this formula into a calculator as I can't seem to get the answer 60. Do I have to set the calulator to a specific setting? do we I have to break the calculation into different stages?

I don't know whether the format of my notes is messed up or its just me doing something wrong.

Thanks for the help

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 31, 2016 #2

ProfuselyQuarky

Gold Member
    2016 Award

I believe that it's a matter of order of operation (you know, putting parentheses in the proper places). I punched in the values and got 60.1252--which is the correct answer rounded.

4. Mar 31, 2016 #3

ProfuselyQuarky

Gold Member
    2016 Award

How did you do it? Could you post what you typed into the calculator?

5. Mar 31, 2016 #4

Attached Files:

6. Mar 31, 2016 #5

ProfuselyQuarky

Gold Member
    2016 Award

That's odd. I did the same thing. This is basic arithmetic, so calculator settings should not really matter. What answer did you get? I see that your calculator is in degrees, but radians vs. degrees doesn't matter here at all. What are you're other settings?

7. Mar 31, 2016 #6
    Its set to Normal Mode in degrees

8. Mar 31, 2016 #7

ProfuselyQuarky

Gold Member
    2016 Award

What was answer did you exactly get? From there, I can work backwards from your answer.

9. Mar 31, 2016 #8

10. Mar 31, 2016 #9

ProfuselyQuarky

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Hold on, I'm thinking . . .

11. Mar 31, 2016 #10

ProfuselyQuarky

Gold Member
    2016 Award