Calculus 2: Finding Arc Length | Florida A&M Univ.

In summary, the conversation discusses the difficulty of finding arc length and possible shortcuts or techniques to make the process easier. The formula for finding arc length is provided and it is mentioned that it can sometimes be expressed in terms of elementary functions. The conversation also touches on the concept of rigging equations to simplify the process and the importance of knowing basic geometric shapes. The term "rigged Hilbert space" is mentioned, which refers to a specific type of mathematical space.
Techman07
The arc length...

Hello all, this is my first post. I am a Computer Engineering Student at Florida A&M University taking Calculus 2 over the summer semester.

Should finding the arc length be so extensive?? Are their shortcuts that I am missing?

If you don't know the formula, the arc length is the integral from a to b of

[1 + (f'(x))^2]^1/2

If finding the arc length IS this difficult, can someone direct me towards some insight. I get caught up in the VERY tedious algebra involved.

thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well,the algebra should be a snack.I mean,it should be the least worrying.

The integral [tex]\int_{a}^{b} \sqrt{1+\left[f'(x)\right]^{2}} \ dx [/tex] is on rare occasions expressible in terms of elementary functions.

Think the ellipse.Try to compute the length of the ellipse...:wink: You'll see that algebra won't be a problem at all.

Daniel.

P.S.Surely,that formula is valid in cartesian coordinates.You can Switch to polar,if u find the integration to be easier.

Last edited:
You have the wrong sign on your f(x) derivative dex.
OP: You'll mostly find the functions rigged so that the algebra is really simple. I remember mostly arclength of sin functions in my class.

Thanks for pointing it out.What does this " You'll mostly find the functions rigged "mean...?(Sorry,it's a bit offtopic,i guess,but i have no idea what that means).

Daniel.