1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can anyone help me with the AMC 10 P 2002

1. Jan 1, 2010 #1
    Hi all, im new to physicsforums, so i just want to get to know yall. im a sophomore and takin alg II, i have an AMC test coming up on February 9. and my teacher gave me a review packet. there are only 25 questions but they are like the hardest questions ive ever seen. So if theres someone has already taken the test, and can help me out with those questions, i would rly appreciate it. i dont need the answer, i just want to know how to solve the problems.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    The perimeter of a rectangle is 100 and its diagonal has length x. What is the area of this rectangle.

2. Relevant equations
    i got l + w = 50 (from the perimeter of the rectangle)
    and x2= l2 + w2 (find the diagonal of the right triangle)

i found this on the internet: 2lw= (l+w)2 - (l2+w2)
    and got 2500 - x2 , then they divide it by 2 to get the area of the rectangle.

so basically they put : 2(Area) = (perimeter)2 - [this is what i dont get]
    and why they square the perimeter?

2 rectangle = 4 triangle = 1 kite ? i dont think theres any connection w/ the kite : A = (1/2)d1*d2

P/s: english is not my language, so if u guys dont understand something just say sth and ill try to explain. sry

btw this is the link of all the questions: http://www.unl.edu/amc/a-activities/a7-problems/practice1012p/html1012p/10pcontest/02c10p.html#10pc#3 [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 1, 2010 #2

Mentallic

Homework Helper

We are told that the perimeter is 100
    This is [itex]2(l+w)=100[/itex] since there are 2 lengths and 2 widths in the rectangle.

So we divide by 2 and now have [itex]l+w=50[/itex]