Can diffusion occur in solids?

I see in most newer syllabus textbooks it says that diffusion is the mixing of fluids and diffusion cannot occur in solids
But when is search the web I see lectures and books written on the title diffusion in solids and when I studied I was taught that diffusion occurs in solids but at very very slow rate
So I was just wondering, in the newer findings, is diffusion considered non occuring in solids or is it so slow that they decided to say it doesn't happen?

Lord Jestocost

Gold Member
2018 Award

Astronuc

Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
I see in most newer syllabus textbooks it says that diffusion is the mixing of fluids and diffusion cannot occur in solids
Please cite the textbooks, which make such a claim. Of course, diffusion occurs in solids, e.g., Cu in Ni, Mg in Al, or Zn in Cu. There is a temperature dependence described by Fick's through a diffusion coefficient given by an Arrhenius equation, D = Do exp (-Q/RT), where Do is some reference diffusion coefficient (pre-exponential), Q is the activation energy for the particular diffusing species, R is the gas constant, and T is the absolute temperature. See chapter 5 of William D. Callister, Materials Science and Engineering, An Introduction, 6th Ed., John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2003.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arrhenius_equation

Atomic diffusion is a significant factor in high temperature systems and nuclear energy systems. In corrosion, in some systems, oxygen (anion) diffuses through the metal oxide, as opposed to metal (cations) diffusing through the oxide. A thermal gradient is part of the physics, and in radiation systems, neutron scattering and ionization by gamma and electron radiation (producing atomic displacements and diffusivity) are factors.

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Education Advisor
Rust is an example of diffusion of oxygen in a solid.

Attachments

Borek

Mentor