• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

Admissions Can I apply to grad school in my 2nd year of undergrad?

Hi,

I would appreciate some help in deciding how to continue from my present situation.

I just finished my first year of university in the US (my major is physics, and interest is theory, including CMP and HEP). My GPA is 4.0 and my physics GRE is 870. I also completed essentially all the physics courses that are required for the degree. I am currently scheduled to graduate in Spring 2020.* As a result, it would seem that I need to apply to graduate schools in Fall 2019 (for Fall 2020 enrollment).

I have a number of concerns about applying and my chances of being admitted to my target schools, and would appreciate any guidance on things I can do to fix/mitigate the problems:

First: I only started doing research this year, and will have roughly just one year of research by the time I start applying to graduate schools. I've heard that research is one of the most important criteria on which admission is based, and I'm worried that by graduating early I limit the amount of research I can show.

Second: Many of my target graduate program websites insist that they are looking for students with multiple semesters of topics such as classical mechanics, quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, and electricity/magnetism. My university offers two semesters of each course in that category except for statistical mechanics (for which there is only one course). The degree requirement in my school does not include the second semester of each. I have already completed the first semester in each plus one additional semester of classical mechanics. In my graduation plan for Spring 2020, my transcript does not include the highest undergraduate level of quantum mechanics and electricity/magnetism course that my school offers, and my concern is that without such courses on the transcript, I might not be as competitive.**