Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can I do drugs and still do well?

1. Oct 13, 2004 #1
    I accidentally posted this in the engineering thread as well (sorry mods).

I'm studying mechanical engineering (BEng) at City University, in London. I'm currently using methadone, GHB, IV cocaine, IV methamphetamine and cannabis on a regular basis (this isn't some sort of sick joke!).

I was just wondering whether this will completely prevent me from finishing (and doing well in) my degree?

Has anyone here been a complete drug addict and still achieved decent grades?
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 13, 2004 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'm positive it will prevent you from doing most anything. And watch out for that hospital...it's heading your way pretty rapidly.

Are our opinions on this matter going to make a difference to your habit ? If a bunch of intelligent, educated and experienced people tell you that you are surely headed towards disaster, will that help you beat your addiction ? Or are you looking for some place where people might tell you that it's just perfectly alright to be doing coke and meth, and that it won't hurt your grades, much less your whole freakin life ?
  4. Oct 13, 2004 #3
    Well, I believe that most intelligent, educated people are still likely to believe that drugs are more harmful than they actually are (drug propaganda). Did you know that the only drug I use that is neurotoxic is the meth? Cocaine is slightly cardiotoxic, but you get my point. I'm not really worried about my health, as I control my meth and coke use (I only use amphetamine-based substances as a study-aid, and the coke is only for recreation at the weekends).