Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can Information.?

1. Feb 2, 2004 #1

Why

Can Information.......?

Be stored in a non-physical field?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 2, 2004 #2

Why

Morpho-genetic

Biochemist Rupert Sheldrake is a proponent although many debunk him there have been some experiments confirming.

Can information move in a repetitive motion creating a 'field' and hold the signal or information intact?

4. Feb 3, 2004 #3

Why

Vibration?

What about a vibration?

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
    Main Entry: vi·brate
    Pronunciation: 'vI-"brAt, esp British vI-'
    Function: verb
    Inflected Form(s): vi·brat·ed; vi·brat·ing
    Etymology: Latin vibratus, past participle of vibrare to brandish, wave, rock -- more at WIPE
    transitive senses
    1 : to swing or move to and fro

Many scientists believe in vibrating strings...as a layman I would love some scientific input on this idea...thanks!

5. Feb 3, 2004 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Isn't a radio signal information "stored" in a field? It's not stored very long but it is there.

On the other hand, we get "information" about the makeup of a distant star from its light. Wasn't that information stored in the electromagnetic field for, possibly, thousands of years?

6. Feb 3, 2004 #5
    Even simpler the old IBM memory model rows and rows of small torus shaped magnets with a charge for 1 and no charge for 0 (the atoms aligned where the magnitic field is produced or random alignment where there is no magnetic field)

Or a laser where photons race back and forth between two mirrors with one at 100% reflectivity and one at 99%, it emerges as coherent light which can be modulated by varience of the input voltage.

This case like other posted examples tho are time "sensitive", which means once the information flows past us it is gone.