1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can someone help me?

1. Jul 9, 2004 #1
    Hey, I'm a high school physics student and I came across this question on one of my practice papers that stumbled me quite a bit. It's a relatively simple relativity/vector question, but I can't understand why the correct answer is what it is. Can any1 help me?

Here's the question:

Suppose we have a river, and a boat is trying to get to the other shore. A current is blowing to the east. In what direction should the boat head to arrive at the other end of the river in the shortest time?
    a) North
    b) Northeast
    c) Northwest

/ \
    [ ]
    [ ]
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 9, 2004 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Does it matter where it ends up on the other side, i.e. does it have to end up directly across from it's starting position? If it has to be directly across, then it's only choice is to go Northwest. If it just has to get to the other side, then "North" is the correct answer. Why? Because the effect of the current only affects how fast it goes east/west, it has no north component. So, the speed at which it goes north depends solely on the north component of the rowing speed (the speed of the boat if it were in still water). Since going straight north gives the greatest possible north component, north is your answer.
  4. Jul 9, 2004 #3